Whether you’re just getting into the beautiful game or have followed your favorite club for years, certain soccer competition names can get confusing. Although most American sports leagues and tournaments are usually just known by one name, there are plenty of global competitions that are polyonymous. Sponsorship agreements sometimes cause these name changes.

For instance, England’s EFL Cup, sometimes also called the League Cup, has also been labeled the Coca-Cola Cup, Worthington Cup, Carling Cup, Milk Cup, Capital One Cup, and finally the Carabao Cup over the last 40 years. However, sponsorship change is not the only reason for confusion.

Sports fans, in general, tend to come up with nicknames for things. Whether it’s for certain players, coaches, or competitions, we sometimes refer to things in a way that seems to just make more sense to us. Also, leagues and governing bodies (like the FA in England) can change the official names to leagues/cup tournaments as well. This is perhaps most notable in Brazil, as their top division has officially changed names multiple times over the years.

Listed below are soccer competitions that can be known by multiple names:


English Premier League (England’s top division) – Premier League, EPL, Barclays Premier League, BPL

FA Cup (England’s primary cup competition) – Emirates FA Cup, Football Association Challenge Cup

Carabao Cup (England’s secondary cup competition) – League Cup, EFL Cup

English Football League Championship (England’s second division) – EFL Championship, The Championship, Sky Bet Championship


La Liga (Spain’s top division) – Campeonato Nacional de Liga de Primera División, La Liga Santander

Copa del Rey (Spain’s primary cup competition) – Campeonato de España–Copa de Su Majestad el Rey, La Copa


Ligue 1 (France’s top division) – Ligue 1 Uber Eats

Coupe de France (France’s primary cup competition) – Coupe Charles Simon


Primeira Liga (Portugal’s top division) – Liga NOS


Belgian First Division A (Belgium’s top division) – Jupiler Pro League, Belgian Pro League


Allsvenskan (Sweden’s top division) – Fotbollsallsvenskan


Scottish League Cup (Scotland’s secondary cup competition) – Betfred Cup


Liga MX (Mexico’s top division) – Liga BBVA MX


Campeonato Brasileiro Serie A (Brazil’s top division) – Brasileirão, Brazilian Championship A Series


Primera Division (Argentina’s top division) – Liga Profesional de Fútbol


Categoría Primera A (Colombia’s top division) – Liga BetPlay Dimayor

Copa Colombia (Colombia’s primary cup competition) – Copa BetPlay Dimayor


Liga Pro Banco Pichincha (Ecuador’s top division) – Liga Pro, Serie A

Copa Ecuador (Ecuador’s primary cup competition) – Copa FEF Ecuador


Primera División (Paraguay’s top division) – Copa de Primera TIGO-Visión Banco, División Profesional de la Asociación Paraguaya de Fútbol


Liga 1 (Peru’s top division) – Peruvian Primera División, Liga 1 Betsson


Primera División (Venezuela’s top division) – Liga Venezolana


Original Source
Author: Chris Moore



Comments are closed